In response to the Daily Prompt Jeopardize

“Hello?”

“Roxie I’m so sorry!”

“Jay? Are you drunk? It’s Dee.”

“No honey it’s not, I swear Rox. Nothing has ever happened with Dee.”

“No Jay, you’ve called me; Dee.”

“I know I said her name but it was … it meant … I’m sorry.”

“Hang up now and call back when you’re sober.”

“Okay Rox. I’m so so sorry. I love Dee you know, she’s my best friend but we’ve never … ”

“Okay, call her tomorrow. Bye.”

“Everything okay love?” Mark’s arm contracted around my waist, pulling me closer to him.

“Just a wrong number,” I said with a sigh as I set the phone back on the night stand.

“Mmm, okay.”

Mark’s breathing evened out so I knew he’d gone back to sleep. Me, not so much. Jay’s phone call replaying through my mind. I couldn’t help but wonder when he’d said my name, what had happened?

I also didn’t know what to do about the call. Did I let Jay know he’d called me and what he’d confessed? Or pretend it hadn’t happened? Though he’d know he’d called from his call log so … the smart thing to do was to lie about what he’d said and hope he was too drunk to remember.

Because the truth? The truth would put our friendship in jeopardy and I’d rather have Jay as a friend than as nothing at all.

