“Fuuuuck,” Adrian drawled.

“What?” I lifted the beer I was nursing and took a sip as he shook his head at me.

“Sometimes I forget how fucking sexy Dee is,” he said with a chin lift and I followed his gaze.

Fuck was right. Black knee-high boots and a green sweater dress. Yeah, I knew what it was thanks to endless hours of shopping with Roxie. She looked positively edible as she came towards us smiling broadly.

I could imagine pushing that dress up, following the path with my tongue until I could greet her in my native language of cunnilingus. My mouth watered at the thought, my ever hopeful cock tried to stand up and pay attention. Dumb fucker. Lucky I was an expert at ignoring it and putting on my friend face.

“Hey,” she greeted us and got a chorus of replies as she took the empty seat beside me..

“Hey baby, long time no see.” I set my drink down to hug her, breathe in her scent, feel the brush of her hair against my skin.

“Too long,” she agreed, hugging me back for a moment. “You remember Mark?”

“Sure.” I bared my teeth in a semblance of a smile at the other man as he pulled his chair closer to Dee’s, draped his arm over her shoulder.

“Hey,” he greeted and we gave each other a nod.

“So, what’s going on, where’s Roxie?” Dee looked to my other side to find Adrian grinning at her.

“Where have you been?” He raised his voice a little to ask and Dee laughed and looked at Mark.

“Oh, you know, busy,” she said with a shrug.

“Good to see you,” Adrian reached across us all to shake Mark’s hand.

“You too.” He leaned in to Dee and said something then looked at me. “You need another Jay?”

“No. I’m good,” I declined and watched as he kissed Dee quickly then headed to the bar.

“I can’t believe I haven’t seen you for what? Six weeks?” Dee frowned at me.

“You’ve been busy,” I reminded her, picking up my drink to take a sip.

“Like you haven’t.” She gave me a light slap on the leg, looking around again. “How is Roxie? Is she here?”

“Nope.” I took another sip, my eyes steady on Dee.

“Jay did you …” she leaned closer to me, stared at me for a long moment. Sounds faded as I stared into her eyes. “You broke up,” she whispered so I read her lips more than heard it.

“A few weeks ago,” I confirmed and guilt washed over her face.

“Why didn’t you call?” She shook her head at me. “Idiot. What happened?”

I thought about saying, “Oh not much, I just said your name while she was sucking my cock. It was all downhill from there.”

Settled with, “It just didn’t work out.”

“If you want to talk …”

“Coffee tomorrow morning?” I suggested, a tradition I’d let Roxie disrupt.

“Here love.” Mark was back with her drink and Dee turned away from me to accept it then turned back.

“Not the morning.” She sipped her drink, her groan making me grit my teeth. She leaned over to Mark and I heard her say, “This is so good.” Then she laughed, low and sexy and I looked away as he gripped the back of her neck and tilted her head back.

I turned to Adrian and Tam, pretended I didn’t care that Dee and Mark were getting cat calls of “Get a room!”

Pretending she was just a friend and I didn’t ache for her? I was a fucking expert at that shit.

