For a change I was the one waiting with coffee. It had been too long since we’d sat down and caught up, just the two of us. I was looking forward to it.

“Babe!” I stood up and pulled Dee in for a hug, probably held her too close for too long but I really didn’t fucking care.

“Hey stranger,” she said with a laugh as I let her go and we both sat down. “Look at you all early and buying coffee!” She picked up her cup and took a sip as I grinned at her.

She was gorgeous, all but … glowing. That thought unsettled me, sent me into a panic. Could Dee be in love with Mark?

“So, you and Mark?” I managed to ask in a normal voice.

“Oh no.” Dee shook her head at me, her lips pursed, her eyes narrowed. “Don’t even.”

“What?” I gave her wide innocent eyes.

“You and Roxie,” she prompted.

I shrugged, sipped my coffee. What could I say? Admit she was blackmailing me over my feelings for Dee?

“I guess I realised I made a mistake letting her go,” I said, trying to sound suitably loved up.

Dee frowned at me, opened her mouth then shook her head and pursed her lips again. “Why do I feel like you’re not telling me everything?” She sighed.

“I’m not but I didn’t think you’d want to hear about our make up sex,” I said with complete honesty and a smirk.

“Oh god no!” Dee rolled her eyes and laughed at me. “I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised.”

“You shouldn’t?”

“Mmm, no. It wasn’t that long ago that we sat here and you told me she was the one,” she reminded me.

“Oh, right.” I nodded as I sipped my coffee, stalling. Back when I’d been convinced Dee and I could only ever be friends and Roxie had seemed so perfect. So different from Dee in every way. When did my thinking change?

“Then your reaction to the break up.” Dee reached over and covered my hand with hers. “I’ve never seen you so devastated before Jay. I’m glad you two worked things out.”

I had to clear my throat to answer. “It was rough,” I admitted as I turned my hand to capture hers.

“Well don’t screw up this time.”

“I’ll try not to babe.” I lifted her hand, brushed a kiss across her knuckles then let her go. “Now, you and Mark?”

“Well, I don’t think you want to hear about our make up sex,” she said with a grin.

“Oh god no!” I laughed and did my best to ignore the green eyed demon in my head yelling ‘Mine!’ and threatening to fuck things up.

