Running late as usual! With Mark in my bed, getting anywhere on time was a challenge. Especially on a Saturday when we usually had nowhere to be. I wouldn’t crawl out of bed for just anyone, but this was Jay.

Jay who was actually on time and grinning at me as he hugged me.

“Babe!”

“Hey stranger,” I hugged him back with a little laugh at his enthusiasm then we both sat down. “Look at you all early and buying coffee.”

I took a sip while Jay stared at me and I wondered what he was looking at so intently. I had brushed my hair right? At least he looked … well not quite normal, but better than the last time I’d seen him.

“So, you and Mark?” He finally asked.

I didn’t want to gush about how great things were going, not when he and Roxie had just gotten back together. “Oh no.” I shook my head at him. “Don’t even.”

“What?” As if I was falling for his wide-eyed innocent look, please!

“You and Roxie,” I prompted.

He stalled, shrugged, sipped his coffee. Wait a minute, was he blushing?

“I guess I realised I made a mistake letting her go,” he said with a sheepish grin and a flash of … panic? Guilt?

What wasn’t he telling me? And since when did we keep secrets from each other? “Why do I feel like you’re not telling me everything?”

He smirked and said, “I’m not but I didn’t think you’d want to hear about our make up sex.”

Nope, not interested in Jay and sex at all! Really not. Especially not with Roxie. I already knew from some of his previous girlfriends that he liked it a little rough and I was not at all surprised that he had a filthy mouth in bed. Did I need details of him and Roxie? No thanks.

“Oh god no!” I assured him with a laugh, as much at myself as at him. “I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised.”

“You shouldn’t?”

I’d wanted to be surprised, but I hadn’t been. If anything I had been surprised by their mutual breakup a few weeks ago. Them getting back together? Not so much!

“Mmm, no. It wasn’t that long ago that we sat here and you told me she was the one.” I’d nearly cried on the cheesecake.

“Oh, right,” Jay nodded and sipped his coffee.

“Then your reaction to the break up.” I hadn’t been there for him either, too caught up with Mark. Plus, Roxie had kept Jay away from me so I hadn’t even known it had happened until weeks after the fact. I grabbed his hand, belated support but still, better than nothing right? “I’ve never seen you so devastated before Jay. I’m glad you two worked things out.”

He cleared his throat, grabbed my hand and said only, “It was rough

Some best friend I was! I squeezed his hand and resolved to be there for him. To make friends with Roxie because dammit, Jay was my best friend and if she was his choice, she was going to be my friend too. Now I had Mark, so hopefully that would show Roxie that there never had been, never would be, anything between me and Jay.

I smiled to lighten the mood and gave him some sage advice; “Well don’t screw up this time.”

“I’ll try not to babe.” He brushed a kiss across my knuckles then let my hand go. “Now, you and Mark?”

It took me  moment to focus, to put the touch of his lips, the illicit thrill, into a box that I might open one day. When I was old and over him.

“Well, I don’t think you want to hear about our make up sex,” I said with a grin.

“Oh god no!” Jay laughed and I put that memory away for later too.

