Sleeping next to Jay was a special kind of torture. Not that I was sleeping. I should have left but he was too much temptation, all sleepy eyed and offering me pancakes. At least the bed didn’t reek of Roxie’s perfume. I took a breath and just got Jay’s familiar dark musky scent. Roxie would pitch a fit if she could see us. Mark would probably just crawl in with us. Pervert that he was.

I smiled at my stupid thoughts, too tired to filter I guess. Don’t worry Rox, I’m like a sister to him. I sent that thought out into the universe, just in case it was listening. Really, it was no different to falling asleep watching a movie together and we’d done that often enough. Maybe not laying in bed together but same, same right? I shifted a little so my back pressed more firmly to his chest, careful not to wake him as I stared at the clock. 9.15 … 9.16 … 9.17 … I’d just lay her for a while, make sure he was really asleep then I’d go out to the couch, rest there.

11.47 … 11.48

I blinked at the time, wondered why the numbers were red, not green, wondered why I was sleeping in my clothes. As I breathed in the familiar scent of Jay reality rushed back to me. The warm body behind me was Jay’s. The clock was Jay’s. The morning wood pressed against my back was Jay’s. I should move away. Right now.

Instead I just lay there as he rubbed against me then nuzzled his face into my hair, making a sexy groaning noise as his arm tightened around my waist.

“Mmm, morning,” he said, his voice rough.

“Hey,” I whispered back, still not moving.

“You get some sleep?”

“Yes thanks.” Neither of us had moved. This was surreal, in bed spooning with Jay. Tick that off the teenage fantasy list.

“I guess we should move. Or you’ll miss out on pancakes.”

We still didn’t move. After a minute I pointed out, “You’ll have to let me go.”

“Mmm,” he agreed then after a last squeeze he rolled to his back so I sat up. “I’ll get dressed and we can go.”

“Okay,” I agreed as I climbed off his bed and found my sandals on the floor. I looked up just in time to see him stretching, his sweat pants riding dangerously low on his hips.

“I’ll wait in the lounge,” I said as I jerked my eyes away.

“Sure baby. And Dee?”

“What?” I looked back from his bedroom doorway.

“Sorry about poking you with my morning wood,” he said with a smirk.

“Did you?” I arched a brow. “I didn’t notice.”

His low laugh followed me to the lounge where I strapped on my shoes and dug through my hand bag for a brush and some lip gloss.

“Ready?” Jay now dressed in cargo shorts and a close fitting tshirt walked out with the coffee and donuts and into his kitchen.

Twenty minutes later we were pulling into the driveway of his family home. The front door was opened by Jay’s older sister Suzi.

“Someone hide the pancakes,” she called out as we climbed out of the car. As we neared the door, the aromas wafting out made my mouth water. Not just pancakes but bacon and muffins and I knew there’d be fresh squeezed juice.

“Hey Suze, you hold him back and I’ll go secure them,” I said with a grin.

“More like inhale them,” Jay muttered from behind me.

“There’s plenty for everyone.” The new voice belonged to Jay’s mother, Cathy. I was greeted with a smile and a hug, Jay’s home had been a second home to me growing up, I was treated like part of the family which was in evidence later as I helped to clean up.

“So where’s your boyfriend Dee?” Suzi asked as I passed her a pan to dry.

“My what?” I asked in surprise.

“Oh come on Dee, we’ve heard about the hottie you’re dating. Mark isn’t it?” Cathy said as she placed left overs into containers.

“Really Cath? Hottie?” Suzi said with a sigh.

“Well he is isn’t he?”

I laughed at their by-play. “Mark is hot,” I agreed. “But he’s not my boyfriend.”

“Really?” Cathy said in her’ I’m the parent, tell me everything’ voice.

“We’re just friends,” I said with a shrug. This really wasn’t a conversation I wanted to have with her.

“Really,” Suzi said with a smirk and I gave her a glare with the next pan.

“I heard you were all lovey dovey,” Cathy said as she stacked the containers into the fridge.

“I think the term you’re looking for is hot and heavy Cathy.” Suzi poked her tongue out at me.

“No, just friends,” I said cheerfully. “Actually Mark’s away this weekend for work and it looks like he’ll be moving away soon.”

“Oh that’s too bad,” Cathy said as she patted me on the shoulder. “You’ll find someone nice Dee, don’t give up.”

Suzi held her laugh in until Cathy had left the room.

“Yeah don’t give up Dee,” she said with a hip bump. “So spill. What’s the real story with you and hottie Mark?”

“Nothing really, we were just friends with benefits,” I confessed, smirking at her little ‘woo’. “We’re both focused on our careers so we sort of acted like it was more. Saved ourselves from a few set ups.”

“Poor baby,” Suzi said without any sympathy what so ever. “I’ve seen some of your set ups,” she added when I glared at her. “So no more Mark then?”

“No,” I said with a sigh. “I was counting on him to be my christmas plus one too so that’s annoying.”

“Plus you’ll miss the sex right,” Suzi said with an eyebrow wiggle.

“Mmm, it was pretty good. But I’m a bit too vanilla for him anyway so it’s for the best.” I laughed at the shock on her face.

“What was he into?” She leaned in to whisper.

“Are you corrupting my sister Dee?”

Jay’s voice had us both jumping and looking around guiltily. How long had he been standing there? Perfect, now Jay knew I wasn’t woman enough for Mark.

Inwardly I cringed but I managed to smirk and say, “I think I’m too late for that. I’m sure she’s heard all about you from Roxie.”

“Roxie?” Suzi’s gaze bounced from me to Jay who was looking … guilty?

“Ah yeah. Jay’s girlfriend?”

“Oh we know who Roxie is,” Suzi said, her eyes locked on Jay. “They broke up ages ago. Right Jay?”

“Ahhh, we sort of got back together,” he said with a wince.

Suzi’s reaction to the news gave me an indication of why Jay hadn’t told his family but I was confused because I thought they all loved Roxie.

“I can’t believe you’re going out with that psycho again,” Suzi snapped then slapped him lightly on the chest. “What are you thinking? Wait, I know what you’re thinking. Well I hope the sex is worth it little brother.” She shook her head and threw the damp tea towel at him then left us there in awkward silence.

Now was probably not the right time to ask why Suzi was calling Roxie a psycho was it? With a wince I said, “Sorry Jay, I didn’t know it was a secret.”

He shook his head, closed his eyes and covered his face with his hands.

“Fuck me,” he whispered.

I could only wish.

