He says, “Hey baby,” and I think, oh good, I’m dreaming again.

Then another voice says, “Well this a surprise princess.”

He can say that again! I refuse to look, just say, “You can fuck off.”

“Does she talk to you like that?” I can hear the smirk in his voice.

“No, but she was softer when I knew her.”

“Yeah? She was broken when I knew her. Did you break her?”

Typical, I think, doesn’t want to accept any of the blame himself.

I look over into navy blue eyes. “Maybe. Just a little bit,” he admits with a wry smile. “Not on purpose though. I thought…” he sighs and shakes his head. He’s right, it doesn’t matter what he thought. “What about you?”

I’m still not looking at Him but I see his shoulders move in a casual shrug. “Oh she was already broken. I may have, let’s say added to the damage.”

“Ha,” I mutter but of course He hears me.

“Always so eloquent.”

“Always so arrogant.”

“Who’s your friend baby?” His fingers brush mine and we start to walk.

“No one important,” I say, knowing He is right behind us. I can hear his footsteps and of course his mocking laughter.

“Keep telling yourself that princess,” he goads.

“Nah, I think she’s right.”

Goosebumps race over my skin and I can’t breathe. I can’t look. What the hell kind of dream is this I wonder.

“Yours,” he says, full of confidence and I have to look. Green eyes pin me in place, intense and demanding.

“I know why I’m here baby. You need to talk about these other two?”

I squeeze his hand in thanks but I don’t have much of an answer for him. It’s like a fucked up  christmas carol in my head with my past, my almost present and my possible future staring at me, waiting for answers.

“Not much to say.” It’s my turn to shrug. “You left, he left. He …” He’s standing before me, a solid wall. “I don’t know about him,” I say with a frown.

“Only one way to find out.” He holds his hand out to me and I don’t know what to do.

I cling to the hand already holding mine. “Maybe next time you should come alone.”

“I’ll try,” he says with a laugh. The other one snorts and the one before me tilts his head, his eyes still on mine, his hand still waiting.

I’m waking up now…

